Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

(A) The Election Committee shall consist of seven (7) members and two (2) alternates who shall be appointed by majority vote of the Tribal Council. The Tribal Council shall attempt to appoint at least one (1) member representative from each of the Yreka, Happy Camp, and Orleans districts. Alternates shall be used when a member cannot fulfill their duties due to illness, family emergencies, and conflicts of interests such as potential nepotism. The Election Committee shall determine when an alternate is needed.

(B) The Election Committee shall designate one (1) of the appointees to act as Chairperson of the Election Committee. The Chairperson and Secretary shall be the only person who possesses a key, which will open the ballot boxes, and the Chairperson shall be responsible for ensuring that the ballot boxes are opened only in conformity with this chapter.

(C) The Secretary/Treasurer of the Tribal Council shall serve as the Registrar of Voters for the Karuk Tribe.

(D) Any person appointed to the Election Committee may decline the appointment, in which case, another appointment shall be made.

(E) Upon accepting the appointment, each member of the Election Committee shall sign an oath which shall become part of the Committee’s records stating that he or she will serve to the best of his or her ability and shall make every effort to prevent fraud or abuse in the election process. The following form of oath of office shall be administered by the Chairperson of the Election Committee:

I, [Name], do solemnly swear or affirm that I am duly qualified to exercise the duties of Election Committee Member for the Karuk Tribe to which I have been selected and that I will carry out faithfully, impartially and confidentially the duties of my office to the best of my ability, that I will make every effort to ensure a fair election and that I will promote and protect the best interest of my Tribe in accordance with its Constitution.

[Ord. 5 § 4, 8/23/2018.]